It’s beginning to look a lot like Winter…

IMG_3052I can’t believe it is mid November already, I absolutely love this time of year, the changing of the leaves, winter wardrobe comes out and the exciting anticipation of my favourite holiday Christmas!! Winter is in the air. Here is a list of my favourite things about this chilliest of seasons.

  1. Layering – happy knitwear weather! Long cardis, pastel cable knits, novelty jumpers, lots of burgundy & my favourite accessory of all time scarves! Tis the season to be snuggly.IMG_8706
  2. Crunchy leaves in brown oranges & reds, crisp blue sky mornings and the possibility of snow, there is nothing better.IMG_3041
  3. I find the sky in the winter months is way more epic, there are more stars out on display than any other time of year & the sunrise’s are out of this world.  IMG_8463
  4. Nights in with open fires – even though my boyfriend has moved house so we may not be able to do as much on previous years but for the last 3 or so years we have sat night after night with a real roaring open fire, which means toasty toes & the occasional marshmallow overload, absolute bliss.IMG_2337
  5. Candles, cinnamon, vanilla, pine I love a candle and with it getting darker earlier there is no better time, I swear they actually warm you up on any cold dark evening.IMG_4246IMG_4245
  6. The shops get full of lovely things, its not just Lush who go all out at Christmas, this week I ventured into Paperchase & as per usual did not come away empty handed. I purchased some nocturnal forest friends mugs (so cute!) & a owl candle. I strategically left the catalogue so my mum would see it & low & behold she couldn’t resist their range of original kooky Christmas baubles to add to our tree this year, we love the robot! They are amazing, their wrapping paper & cards are the best around, Paperchase never disappoints!IMG_4235
  7. Christmas decorations start going up, and a trip to London is a must for some last minute shopping & to see the extraordinary window displays in and around central London (Selfridges is a must!), last year my favourite was Slone Square, with there giant suspended clusters of fairy lights, so beautiful!IMG_8285
  8. Christmas TV adverts have started already, John Lewis’s Monty the Penguin has done it again this year & had my welling up on my lunch break. The Marks & Spencer advert is a little disappointing & as I don’t watch the X Factor am still to see the coca cola advert. But you can see the extra effort that goes into these advertising campaigns & they make the dreary ad breaks that little bit more bearable.IMG_4247
  9. Work gets busier, people out shopping with lists & 90% of people are feeling happy & festive, the days fly by & lots of people leave feeling happy, it is lovely feeling to help people get the gifts they want for the people they love.
  10. Christmas Music, I love it, cant get enough of it, from Mariah Carey to Aled Jones, to my favourite Christmas Carols, fill my head & heart with your joyful tunes.IMG_2615
  11. Puff pastry mince pies, special seasonal coffees, baking, ginger bread, hearty meals, pigs in blankets, roast potatoes, cups of tea, cinnamon, spice and all things that are nice. As much as I love BBQs, food at this time of year is just legit. I don’t mind saying that part of the reason to love the cold and layers is to disguise any ‘holiday weight’ I may or may not care about gaining at this time of year.
  12. Spending time with the people you love. Which is surely what this time of year is all about, the above just makes the time you spend with them that little bit more special.IMG_2767
4 thoughts on “It’s beginning to look a lot like Winter…

Leave a Reply

